Smith College and Hampshire College
His Holiness The Dalai Lama
WIsdom, Compassion, Peace. His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama at Hampshire and Smith Colleges

PLANNING COMMITTEE

A committee that includes representation from Smith and Hampshire colleges and the Tibetan Association of Western Massachusetts is making arrangements for the visit by the Dalai Lama. Jay Garfield, director of the Five College Tibetan Studies in India Program and an authority on Buddhist philosophy, served as a liaison in arranging the visit and is now chairing the committee with Peg Pitzer, Smith College director of events management.

Committee Chairs

Jay Garfield, Doris Silbert Professor of Philosophy at Smith, jgarfiel@email.smith.edu

Peg Pitzer, Smith College Director of Events Management, ppitzer@email.smith.edu

Hampshire College President’s Office

Diana Henley-Fernandez, Hampshire College Assistant to the President, dfernandez@hampshire.edu

Sue Darlington, Hampshire College Associate Professor of Anthropology and Asian Studies, smdSS@hampshire.edu

Lobsang Norbu Shastri, Director, Translation and Research Unit, Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies, Visiting Professor of Philosophy, Smith and Hampshire Colleges, Ishastri@smith.edu, HA@hampshire.edu, Inshastri@yahoo.com

Smith College President’s Office and Board of Trustees

Jackie Scalzo, Smith College Secretary to the President, jscalzo@email.smith.edu

Rebecca Lindsey, Smith College Secretary to the Board of Trustees, rlindsey@email.smith.edu

Tibetan Community Leaders

Thondup Tsering, President of the Tibetan Association of Western Massachusetts, ttsering@gw.housing.umass.edu

Yeshi Gyaltsen, Secretary of the Tibetan Association of Western Massachusetts, gyaltsen01002@yahoo.com

College Relations

Judith Marksbury, Smith College Director of College Relations, jmarksbu@email.smith.edu

Buildings and Grounds

Diane Benoit, Smith College Manager of Building Services, dbenoit@email.smith.edu

Dining Services

Betse Curtis, Smith College Dining Services Catering Manager, ecurtis@email.smith.edu

Events Management

Ken Molnar, Smith College Events Management Database Manager, kmolnar@email.smith.edu

Media

Kristen Cole, Smith College Director of Media Relations, kacole@email.smith.edu

Elaine Thomas, Hampshire College Director of Communications, ethomas@hampshire.edu

Public Safety

Paul Ominsky, Smith College Director of Public Safety, pominsky@email.smith.edu

Scott Graham, Smith College Deputy Chief of Public Safety, sgraham@email.smith.edu

Religious Life

Jennifer Walters, Smith College Dean of Religious Life, jwalters@email.smith.edu

Technology Support

Joanne CannonCarlson, Smith College Assistant Director of Information Technology, jcannon@email.smith.edu

About the Visit

Biography

Events

Reading List

Five College Tibetan Studies

Tibetan Studies
Faculty

Planning Committee

 

DirectoryCalendarCampus MapVirtual TourContact UsSite A-Z