Home
Faculty
Courses
Study Abroad
Concentration
Buddhist Studies Certificate Program
Faculty Publications
Faculty Seminar
Prizes
Public Talks & Conferences
Webcasts
Resources
Summer Institute in Museum Studies
Tibetan Studies in India
Religious & Spiritual Life

Jay Garfield

Philosophy
Doris Silbert Professor in the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy
(on leave 2014-2015)
jgarfield@smith.edu
(413) 585-3649

Jamie Hubbard

Religion
Professor and Yehan Numata Professor in Buddhist Studies
Jill Ker Conway Professor of Religion and East Asian Studies
jhubbard@smith.edu
(413) 585-3449

Constance Kassor

Religion
Lecturer
ckassor@smith.edu

Marylin Rhie

Art
Jesse Wells Post Professor of Art and Professor of East Asian Studies
mrhie@smith.edu
(413) 585-3138

Andy Rotman

Religion
Professor of Religion
(on leave spring 2015)
arotman@smith.edu
(413) 585-3348

Adjunct Faculty

Andrew Olendzki

Religion
Adjunct Professor
andrewo@dharma.org

Emeriti Faculty

Taitetsu Unno

Religion
Jill Ker Conway Professor Emeritus of Religion and East Asian Studies
tunno@smith.edu

Peter Gregory

Religion
Jill Ker Conway Professor Emeritus of Religion and East Asian Studies
pgregory@smith.edu

Affiliates

Nalini Bhushan

Philosophy
Professor
nbhushan@smith.edu
(413) 585-3421

Suzanne Gottschang

Anthropology
Associate Professor
szhang@smith.edu
(413) 585-3544

Leslie Jaffe

Medical Services
College Physician & Director
ljaffe@smith.edu
(413) 585-2806

Sabina Knight

Comparative Literature
Professor
dsknight@smith.edu
(413) 585-3548

Kim Kono

East Asian Languages and Literatures
Associate Professor
kkono@smith.edu
(413) 585-3738

Tom Rohlich

East Asian Languages and Literatures
Professor
trohlich@smith.edu
(413) 585-3441

Sujane Wu

East Asian Languages and Literatures
Associate Professor
swu@smith.edu
(413) 585-3707

 

Five College Buddhist Studies Faculty

Amherst College

Maria Heim

Religion
Associate Professor
mrheim@amherst.edu
(413) 542-8475

Steven Heim

HACU (Religion)
Visiting Lecturer
sheim@amherst.edu
(413) 542-8475

Sam Morse

Fine Arts & Asian Languages and Civilizations
Professor
scmorse@amherst.edu
(413) 542-2282

Paola Zamperini

Asian Languages and Civilizations
Associate Professor
pzamperini@amherst.edu
(413) 542-4483

Hampshire College

Susan Darlington

Social Science (Anthropology and Asian Studies)
Professor
sdarlington@hampshire.edu
(413) 559-5498

Alan Hodder

HACU (Comparative Religion)
Professor
ahodder@hampshire.edu
(413) 559-5747

Mount Holyoke College

Suzanne Mrozik

Religion
Associate Professor
smrozik@mtholyoke.edu
(413) 538-2721

Indira Viswanathan Peterson

Asian Studies
Five College Fortieth Anniversary Professor
ipeterso@mtholyoke.edu
(413) 538-2376

Ajay Sinha

Art History
Professor
asinha@mtholyoke.edu
(413) 538-2473

University of Massachusetts

Donald E. Gjertson

Asian Languages and Literatures
Professor of Chinese
dgjertson@asianlan.umass.edu
(413) 545-4957

Stephen Miller

Asian Languages and Literatures
Assistant Professor of Japanese
smiller@asianlan.umass.edu
(413) 545-0208

Reiko Sono

Asian Languages and Literatures
Senior Lecturer of Japanese
rsono@asianlan.umass.edu
(413) 545-4947